Black Students Talk

Black Students Talk Peer Support Image

 

What is Black Students Talk (BST)?

Black Students Talk (BST)* is a peer support group that provides safe, supportive and therapeutic spaces for Black students to meet, share, learn, and manage our mental health & wellbeing at King’s College London.

Who is Black Students Talk (BST) for?

University students at King’s College London who identify as Black (African, Caribbean, Mixed with Black heritage).

Why does Black Students Talk exist (BST)?

As university students we experience complex academic, psychological, social, emotional and financial pressures. Black students face specific pressures that often affect our mental health and therefore, our university experience and outcome. We want to help make the lives of all Black students at King’s College London as happy, healthy and successful as possible.

What do Black Students Talk (BST) sessions offer?

  • one-to-one/group discussions using culturally relevant/specific psychoeducation
  • help accessing appropriate mental health services within the university and wider community
  • a ‘home away from home’ to connect with other Black students
  • visiting speakers from Black mental health organisations
  • resources designed and delivered by trained facilitators

How do I attend the Black Students Talk (BST) sessions?

This year, BST sessions are being held virtually on Microsoft Teams. Please click on this link to sign up to any BST sessions!

Here are the Term 3 BST Sessions:

  • Wednesday, April 28, 2021 from  5PM-7PM
  • Thursday, April 29, 2021 from 3PM-5PM
  • Thursday, May 6, 2021 from  6PM-8PM
  • Saturday, May 8, 2021 from 1PM-3PM
  • Wednesday, May 12, 2021 from 5PM-7PM
  • Thursday, May 13, 2021 from 3PM-5PM
  • Thursday, May 20, 2021 from  6PM-8PM
  • Saturday, May 22, 2021 from 1PM-3PM
  • Wednesday, May 26, 2021 from 5PM-7PM
  • Thursday, May 27, 2021 from 3PM-5PM
  • Thursday, June 3, 2021 from  6PM-8PM
  • Saturday, June 5, 2021 from 1PM-3PM
  • Wednesday, June 9, 2021 from 5PM-7PM
  • Thursday, June 10, 2021 from 3PM-5PM
  • Thursday, June 17, 2021 from  6PM-8PM
  • Saturday, June 19, 2021 from 1PM-3PM
  • Wednesday, June 23, 2021 from 5PM-7PM
  • Thursday, June 24, 2021 from 3PM-5PM
  • Thursday, July 1, 2021 from  6PM-8PM
  • Saturday, July 3, 2021 from 1PM-3PM
  • Wednesday, July 7, 2021 from 5PM-7PM
  • Thursday, July 8, 2021 from 3PM-5PM
  • Thursday, July 15, 2021 from  6PM-8PM
  • Saturday, July 17, 2021 from 1PM-3PM
  • Wednesday, July 21, 2021 from 5PM-7PM
  • Thursday, July 22, 2021 from 3PM-5PM
  • Thursday, July 29, 2021 from  6PM-8PM
  • Saturday, July 31, 2021 from 1PM-3PM

 

Follow us on Twitter: @BPTwellbeing

 

*BST is part of the national Black People Talk (BPT), an initiative founded by Yannick Yalipende and Nkasi Stoll that aims to support the mental health and wellbeing of the Black community in the UK.